Skip to main content Deutsch

Mission Statement

As a service provider at the Medical University of Vienna, we aim to adapt our offers to the requirements of our customers and the strategic goals of the university.

We can offer you:

  • the largest collection of medical literature and media in Austria (current as well as historical)
  • an efficient supply of scientific literature and information in the field of medicine and medical fringe areas
  • globally interconnected electronic information and the use of pioneering technology setting new standards

Our library continually aims to be among the proactive and innovative medical libraries of Europe.

Management
Management of the department “University Library” of the Medical University of Vienna: planning and controlling of budget and personnel; representation of the university library in the university’s committees, contacts to national and international partner organisations as well as medical scientific institutions; development of strategies for the optimization of the library’s information services; controlling of all processes of the department; development of strategies for sourcing third-party funds; planning and coordination of public relations for the university library

Administration
Organisation, coordination and implementation of administrative and clearing transactions at the university library; team coordination according to practicality, swiftness and economy; budget control for third-party funds

Acquisition
Swift and economical acquisition and processing of literature to ensure an optimal supply of information for members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university and all other persons requiring scientific information; budget control and processing of all incoming and outgoing invoices of the university library (except third-party funds); subject-specific support

Serials management
Optimal supply of print and electronic journals for members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university and all other persons requiring scientific information; processing and indexing of journals in national and international catalogues; subject-specific support; budget control for serials

Digital Library
Acquisition, installation and maintenance of electronic devices (hard- and software); maintenance of the university library’s servers (library network) and databases as well as the integrated library system Alma and the document delivery service DOD, including technical support

Subject cataloguing
Efficient subject cataloguing of literature and other information media by keywording and classification in the integrated library system Alma as well as subject-specific shelving in the library reading room to ensure an optimal supply for members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university and all other persons requiring scientific information; subject-specific support; presentation of monthly new acquisitions

Cataloguing
Efficient cataloguing of literature and other information media to ensure an optimal supply of literature and electronic resources for members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university and all other persons requiring scientific information; subject-specific support; maintenance of open and closed shelving; swift supply of literature for library patrons; processing, securing and shelving of library materials; processing of bookbinding services

IVS Information Retrieval / Information Literacy
Literature research in databases, evaluation and preparation of information to ensure an optimal supply of specialised literature and scientific information; subject-specific support on databases and other information media; guided tours and courses for all members of MedUni Vienna and other interested persons

Lending services
Efficient lending services to ensure the supply of specialised literature for members of the university’s academic staff, students und other interested persons; orderly storage and safeguarding of library holdings; maintenance of the customer database; management of overdue notices and cash desk; subject-specific support

Interlibrary Loans / Document Delivery
Receipt and classification of orders from members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university, commercial patrons and other persons requiring scientific information; efficient sourcing of required journal articles and media; scanning or copying of requested literature from library holdings; ordering from other libraries in Austria and abroad via electronic delivery services; cost-efficient delivery of orders via postal services/collection within required delivery periods; cost reports, processing of complaints, maintaining statistics; subject-specific support

Branch Library for History of Medicine / Branch Library for Dental Medicine
Optimal supply of information from the branch libraries’ holdings for members of the teaching and research operations of the MedUni Vienna, alumni of the university and other interested persons; cataloguing, subject cataloguing and classification of new acquisitions; subject-specific support; processing of interlibrary loans; conducting of literature research

The University Library of the Medical University of Vienna was the first academic library in Austria to qualify for ISO Certification!

ISO-Certification

Skip to main content English

Mission Statement

Als Dienstleistungseinrichtung der Medizinischen Universität Wien orientieren wir unser Angebot an den Bedürfnissen unserer Kunden und an den strategischen Zielen der Medizinischen Universität Wien.

Wir bieten Ihnen:

  • den größten medizinischen Medienbestand Österreichs sowohl aktuell als auch historisch;
  • eine effiziente Versorgung mit wissenschaftlicher Literatur und Information aus Medizin und ihren Grenzgebieten;
  • weltweit vernetzte elektronische Information und den Einsatz zukunftsweisender Technik, die Maßstäbe setzt.

Unsere Bibliothek will stets zu den initiativen und innovativen Medizinbibliotheken Europas gehören.

  • Direktion
    Leitung der Abteilung Universitätsbibliothek der Medizinischen Universität Wien: Planung u. Kontrolle des gesamten Budget- u. Personaleinsatzes; Vertretung der Universitätsbibliothek in den Gremien der MedUni Wien, Kontaktpflege zu in- und ausländischen Partnerorganisationen sowie zu wissenschaftlichen Institutionen im Fachbereich; Entwicklung von Strategien zur Optimierung des Informationsangebots der Universitätsbibliothek; Kontrolle sämtlicher an der Abteilung ablaufender Arbeitsvorgänge; Erarbeitung von Strategien zur Beschaffung von Drittmitteln; Planung und Koordinierung der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Universitätsbibliothek.

  • Verwaltung
    Organisation, Koordinierung und Durchführung des reibungslosen Ablaufes des Verwaltungs- und Verrechnungsgeschäftsganges der Universitätsbibliothek, insbesondere Koordinierung administrativer Tätigkeiten in den Teams nach den Grundsätzen der Zweckmäßigkeit, Schnelligkeit und Sparsamkeit. Budgetkontrolle der Drittmittelgebarung.

  • Erwerbung
    Rasche, preisgünstige Beschaffung und Aufschließung von Literatur zwecks optimaler Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Personen, die wissenschaftliche Informationen benötigen. Budgetkontrolle und Bearbeitung aller Ein- und Ausgangsrechnungen der Bibliothek (außer Drittmittel). Fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung.

  • Zeitschriftenabteilung
    Optimale Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Personen, die wissenschaftliche Informationen benötigen, mit gedruckten und elektronischen Zeitschriften. Bearbeitung dieser Zeitschriften und Nachweis in nationalen und internationalen Katalogen. Fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung; Zeitschriftenbudgetkontrolle.

  • Digitale Bibliothek
    Beschaffung von EDV-Geräten, deren Installation und Wartung (Hard- und Software), Betreuung der von der Universitätsbibliothek betriebenen Server (Bibliotheksnetzwerk) und Datenbanken sowie des Bibliothekssystems ALEPH und der Document Delivery Software DOD inklusive technischem Support.

  • Inhaltliche Erschließung
    Effiziente Sacherschließung von Literatur und sonstiger Informationsträger durch Beschlagwortung und Systematisierung im Bibliothekssystem ALEPH und als Fachaufstellung im Lesesaal zwecks optimaler Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Personen die wissenschaftliche Informationen benötigen. Fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung; Präsentation des monatlichen Neuzuganges.

  • Titelaufnahme
    Effiziente Formalerfassung von Literatur und sonstigen Informationsträgern zwecks optimaler Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Personen, die wissenschaftliche Informationen benötigen, mit Literatur und elektronischen Informationsträgern. Fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung, Bearbeitung der Freihandaufstellung sowie Magazinsbetreuung.
    Rasche Literaturversorgung der Benützer; Bearbeitung des Bestandes sowie deren Adjustierung, Sicherung und Aufstellung; Abwicklung der Buchbinderarbeiten.

  • IVS-Informationsvermittlungsstelle - Information Retrieval
    Optimale Versorgung mit Fachliteratur und wissenschaftlichen Informationen durch Literaturrecherchen in Datenbanken, Evaluierung und Aufbereitung der wissenschaftlichen Informationen; fachspezifische Beratung über Datenbanken und sonstige Informationsträger, Führungen und Schulungen für alle im Bereich der MedUni Wien Tätigen und andere wissenschaftlich interessierte Personen.

  • Entlehnung
    Effizienter Entlehnbetrieb zur Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehrkörpers der Universität, der Studierenden sowie der sonstigen wissenschaftlich interessierten Personen mit Fachliteratur; ordnungsgemäße Unterbringung und Schutz der Bibliotheksbestände; Führung der Kundendatenbank; Mahnwesen und Kassa; fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung.

  • Fernleihe – Document Delivery
    Annahme und Klassifikation von Bestellaufträgen der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Personen, die wissenschaftliche Informationen benötigen und kommerzieller Nutzer. Effiziente Beschaffung von angeforderten Zeitschriftenartikeln und Medien; Einscannen bzw. Kopieren der gewünschten Literatur aus eigenen Beständen, Bestellen aus anderen Bibliotheken im In- und Ausland über elektronische Lieferdienste; kostengünstige Übermittlung dieser per Post/Abhohlung innerhalb gewünschter Lieferfristen. Kostenaufstellung, Bearbeitung von Reklamationen, Führen von Statistiken; fachspezifische Beratung und Betreuung.

  • Zweigbibliothek für Geschichte der Medizin, Zweigbibliothek für Zahnmedizin
    Optimale Versorgung der Angehörigen des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs der MedUni Wien, der AbsolventInnen der Universität sowie sonstiger Interessenten mit Informationen aus den Beständen der Zweigbibliotheken; Katalogisierung, Sacherschließung und Systematisierung der Neuzugänge; fachspezifische Beratung u. Betreuung, Abwicklung der Fernleihe; Durchführung von Literaturrecherchen.

  • Die Universitätsbibliothek der Medizinischen Universität Wien konnte sich als erste wissenschaftliche Bibliothek in Österreich im Rahmen der ISO-Zertifizierung qualifizieren!

    ISO-Zertifikat

Die Mitarbeiter:innen der Universitätsbibliothek setzen sich zum Ziel folgende Werte in internen und externen Arbeiten zu respektieren:

  • Gleichberechtigung: Alle Menschen sind frei und gleich an Würde und Rechten geboren.
  • Wertschätzung: Achtsamkeit und respektvoller Umgang mit Menschen sind gelebter Alltag.
  • Diversität: Vielfalt stärkt unsere Innovationskraft.
  • Inklusion: Das Vorhandensein von Unterschieden zwischen Menschen ist die Normalität.